Seven Aggies earn first team honors

Janay Boone- Sports Editor:

Sophomore running back Tarik Cohen earned the top honors in the conference as he was named Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Co-Offensive Players of the Year.

Howard University’s quarterback Greg McGhee, Cohen, and seven other Aggies earned first-team honors.

Cohen (5-6, 172, Bunn, N.C.) led the MEAC with 121.8 rushing yards per game. He also led the conference in scoring. Cohen recorded his second straight 1,000-yard season with 1,340 yards to help the Aggies finish 9-3 overall and 6-2 in conference play.

It was the second-highest single-season rushing performance in Aggie football history.

Cohen carried the ball 197 times with 15 touchdowns in 11 games. Cohen is second in the nation in yards per carry and 10th in rushing yards per game.

During the Broadway era, Cohen is the second Aggie to win co-offensive player of the year.

The Aggies first-team All-MEAC selections included starting cornerbacks Donald Mattocks and Tony McRae, left guard William Ray Robinson III, center Ronald Canty, and linebacker D’Vonte Grant. Rounding out the list as sophomore kicker Cody Jones.

Cornerback Mattocks (R-Sr., 5-8, 178, Burlington, N.C.) leads the conference with seven total interceptions and 0.6 per game. Mattocks earned defensive player of the week honors and was ranked third in the conference in passes defended.

Mattocks helped the defensive line lead the nation in takeaways. Mattocks’ highlight game of the season was against Chowan when he recorded a school of record three interceptions in one half. The Aggies defeated the Braves 59-0.

McRae (Jr., 5-9, 175, Laurinburg, N.C.) was second in the MEAC in passes defended and 11th in the nation. In the MEAC/SWAC Challenge, McRae returned a kickoff 95 yards for a touchdown in a 47-13 victory over Alabama A&M. He recorded 120 yards in kickoff return yardage in the annual MEAC/SWAC Challenge game. McRae was ranked No. 2 in the conference behind his teammate in interceptions with five total and 0.4 per game.

Robinson III (R-Sr., 6-3, 307, Clinton, Md.) earned his second first-team All-MEAC honor after gaining his first in the 2012 season.

This season he earned first-team honors for the first time as a left guard after playing his previous three seasons as the Aggies left tackle. Robinson started 41 games during his career.

Canty (R-Sr., 6-0, 277, Chester, S.C.) played in 11 games with 10 starts during the 2013 season. He graded out between 80-90 percent this season. He recorded 21 blocks this season and 53 for his career as an Aggie.

Four-year starter Grant (R-Sr., 5-10, 195, Charlotte, N.C.) led the Aggies in tackles in his first three years and ends his career with 45 starts and 362 tackles. Grant has also helped in the Aggies in their dominance on the defensive end. Grant ended the season being one tackle shy of leading the team in tackles.

He recorded nine interceptions and he has four career touchdowns this season. This will be Grant’s first, first-team honor.

Jones (So., 5-11, 136, Gastonia, N.C.) filled in for Dominic Frescura after Frescura suffered a knee injury that caused him to miss the final seven games of the season.

Jones went 15 of 19 in field goals this season and 45 of 47 extra points in 2014. Jones went 12 straight games with made field goals but the streak ended against in-state rivals N.C. Central.

Nose guard Marquis Ragland, wide receiver Desmond Lawrence, quarterback Kwashaun Quick and left tackle Brandon Parker rounded out the third-team honors.

—Email Janay at [email protected] and follow her on Twitter @Ayo_IsThatBoone